Foundation Awards New Founders Scholarships

The Ammonia Refrigeration Foundation has awarded three new recipients of its Founders Scholarship.  

The three new award recipients were drawn from a pool of the largest number of excellent candidate applications in the Foundation’s history and will join three previously named scholars for a combined total of six engineering students receiving grants from the Foundation to pursue engineering degrees.   

The new Founder’s Scholars are:
  • Samantha Farley – University of Delaware
  • Colby M. Rapp – University of Missouri
  • Thomas Sauer – Pennsylvania State University  

The previously named and returning Founder’s Scholars are:
  • Rachael Sealover – University of South Carolina
  • Connor Wheeler – University of Missouri
  • James Schubert – Cal. Poly.
The six scholarships that have so far been awarded by the Foundation are made possible by the philanthropic support by individuals, corporations and foundations eager to invest in the future of natural refrigeration.   

The Foundation renamed the engineering scholarship in 2017 to The Founders Scholarship in honor and memory of the Founding Fathers of the International Institute of Ammonia Refrigeration (IIAR) – George Briley, Chuck Hansen, Don Niederer and Bill Richards. The Founder’s Scholars will honor their legacy and significant contributions to the industry. The Founders Scholarship recipients are awarded each year to students exhibiting exceptional character and interest in pursuing and engineering or related technical degree leading to a career in the refrigeration field.